Skip navigation

This is the english version of my last french post about trying to mixup my Nutrition job and and the Web2.0 apps, such as Seesmic. Thanks Kmeron, proud creator of Racavatar, for your precious help. That’s just a beginning.😉

There’s been so many video conversations I took part in on Seesmic until now, and I just kept wondering the same question over and over again : Why could I use this awesome tool? Would it be benefic?

I’m not someone involved at all in any of those web stuff (money wise), it’s a good thing for my friends, not so good for my family. However, this allows me to judge the web 2.0 apps to their own true value : what solution are they bringing to the table? Which problems do they solve?

At the beginning, in the middle of october, I had the joy to be able to use Seesmic to meet and know users from all around the world, happy to share their eating habits with a French professional in Nutrition and Health issue. But the limits appeared quickly : cultural differences, food industries ones, daily rythm, legal obligations… Nutrition advice are almost like the horoscope!🙂 At this point, I wanted to actually see the other side of the screen : USA, Japan, China, Canada. But I miss the budget for all that, of course.

So I was starting to think about the origin of my income, French people, who used to depend on a health system structured around the idea of solidarity, have real problems when it comes to pay by themselves to have health tips. And here we were,health people, according with our « immediat pleasure » society we’re living in, coming up with a brand new type of patient : the health « client ». And he really is a tough one:

I wanna loose weight, quickly, without feeling hunger, but last and not the least, without any constraintes culinary or pleasure wise! And do not put my health in any danger!!

Do I look like a magician?

Some are using that just to make money, on the credulity of those people, on the fantastical ideal build by the collective unconscious, through ads and cinema.

There is no interactivity with TV, no flexibility, no evolution regarding the user’s expectations. A media that is deadening one’s mind. The real advantage of a conversation : « from Difference is coming Wealth ». And so when the conversation is clearly asynchrone, then Respect for the other one and the content becomes real, again. Seesmic, it’s pretty much all of that : the possibility to generalize the Health speech regarding what the user is expecting, it’s how serious the content is, the dispassion and freedom of the tester (for the moment at least), and listening, and curiosity. But more and foremost the borders are falling down, the internet user is a citizen of the world.

So, Loic le Meur when you are planning Health content, just make a sign!

Laisser un commentaire

